Mandatory Insurance by June 2010
Posted by PKSD Law Firm on Sep 29, 2009 in Car Accidents
After June of 2010 it will be illegal for motorists to drive without insurance. The mandatory insurance law just approved as part of the state budget wont make motorists prove they have insurance unless they are pulled over by the police for an unrelated traffic violation.
The Department of Transportation is still ironing out the details, but we know this much:
- Wisconsin drivers will be required to carry with them proof, e.g. a card or a letter from an insurer.
- If a driver is stopped on suspicion of a traffic violation, the officer can ask for proof of insurance. A $10 ticket can be issued if the driver has insurance, but fails to provide proof. Those who dont have insurance may be fined up to $500.
- Underinsured motorist coverage will be required for state drivers on new or renewed policies starting November 1st.
- Motorists will need to have a policy providing at least $50,000 in bodily injury coverage for one person, $100,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident and $15,000 to cover property damage.
Pitman, Kalkhoff & Sicula is a Wisconsin personal injury law firm handling car accident cases throughout the state. Our Wisconsin injury attorneys have successfully represented injured people in almost every county. We know Wisconsin.