Wisconsin Ranked 8th Worst State for Teen Drivers
Posted by PKSD Law Firm on July 12, 2016 in Car Accidents
According to a recent study released by WalletHub, Wisconsin is the eighth worst state for teenage drivers.
Researchers analyzed the teen-driving environment in each state using a collection of 16 key metrics, including the number of teen fatalities, the cost for vehicle repairs and driving laws.
In Wisconsin, teens ages 14 and a half through 18 are required to complete a driver’s education course before they can get their driver’s license. The course comprises of 30 hours of class and 12 hours in the car, including six hours of observation and six hours behind the wheel.
Teens in the state are also required to have a permit for six months before they can get their license. Many critics, however, are concerned that six months is not enough time to learn the habits they need to be a good defensive driver. Some warn that teens lack experience, but tend to overestimate their abilities while behind the wheel.
Because driving requires mental and physical focus, distractions outside and inside the vehicle can have deadly consequences. Drivers must be continually aware of their environment. Yet, teenagers often engage in distracted driving such as texting and interacting with passengers while behind the wheel.
Auto accidents are the leading cause of death for teens ages 16 to 19. This group also has the highest risk for being involved in an accident, the financial consequences for which are substantial. Although 15 to 24-year-olds only make up 14 percent of the population, they account for almost a third of total costs from motor vehicle accidents.
It has been found that the most dangerous time for new teen drivers is during the summer, between Memorial Day and Labor Day, which has been referred to as the “100 Deadliest Days” for teens. According to the AAA Foundation, there is a 16 percent increase in fatal car accidents involving teens during this time.