Uninsured Drivers: New Insurance Law Requires Policy
Posted by PKSD Law Firm on May 19, 2010 in Car Accidents
If you dont have car insurance youll need it. For the first time in Wisconsin, it will soon be the law. As of June 1st the law will require everyone to have car insurance, if you dont the penalties can be costly.
The law will require all drivers be covered by a certain level of liability insurance. The new law requires Wisconsin drivers to carry the following minimum liability coverage: $50,000 for injury or death of one person; $100,000 for injury or death of two or more people; and $15,000 for property damage. The law also requires uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage each with minimum limits of $100,000/$300,000 for bodily injury coverage.
The Wisconsin State Patrol will give drivers a 30-60 day grace period after the law takes effect on June 1st. After that drivers without insurance will face fines.
While it is important to know what type of insurance that you carry for your vehicle, in the event that you are injured in a collision with another driver that does not have insurance, you may have options available to help you recover financial compensation. A Milwaukee auto accident lawyer from PKSD can help you review the details of the incident and then determine the most effective way forward. For more information, contact a personal injury lawyer at our firm today by calling 877-877-2228 or reach us online by completing the "Free Case Evaluation" form on this page.
PKSD - Est. 1999.