Drunk Driving Penalties for Midwest States
Posted by PKSD Law Firm on Sep 18, 2009 in Drunken Driving Accidents
Wisconsin State Journal writer Jason Stein posted the criminal status for drunken driving in the surrounding midwest states. They are as follows:
First and second offenses are class A misdemeanors, third and subsequent offenses are class 4 felonies
First offense is serious misdemeanor, second offense within 12 years is aggravated misdemeanor, third or subsequent offense is class D felony
First and second offenses are misdemeanors, third or subsequent offenses within 10 years are felonies
Fourth-degree drunk driving (no aggravating factors): Misdemeanor
Third-degree drunk driving (one aggravating factor): Gross misdemeanor
Second-degree drunk-driving (two aggravating factors): Gross misdemeanor
First-degree drunk driving (three or more aggravating factors): Felony
Aggravating Factors: (1) any prior drunk-driving offense; (2) driving with an alcohol concentration higher than 0.20; or, (3) driving with a passenger less than 16 years old if the passenger is more than 36 months younger than the driver.
First offense is a municipal offense; the second through fourth offenses are misdemeanor, and the fifth and subsequent are a Class H felony which is punishable by a fine not to exceed $10,000 or a term of imprisonment not to exceed 6 years, or both.
PKSD is a Wisconsin personal injury law firm representing victims of drunken driving accidents throughout the state. Our Wisconsin injury attorneys have successfully represented injured people in almost every county. We know Wisconsin.